Traditional since 1856
In 1856, construction of the imposing Belle Epoque-era building commenced. The mountain hotel opened its doors for the first time in 1858 and was especially popular amongst guests from the British Isles – including the Irish Alpine mountaineer and physicist John Tyndall (1820 to 1893). He spent 44 summers here. In his honour, the Tyndall room has been preserved in its original condition. The hotel was first expanded in 1870, and the construction of the annex in 1885 meant that the number of guest beds could be increased to 70. At the time, the hotel's amenities even included a tennis court(!), and the hotel offered its own postage stamps so that the predominantly international guests could post their letters.
In 1993, the Burgerschaft Naters – a local citizens' collective – took over the running of Hotel Belalp and thereby saved it from closure. The collective renovated the hotel from top to bottom in a style in keeping with the locality and the original architecture. In 1999, the annex suffered so badly under the weight of snow that it had to be demolished. In its stead, the nearby "Lingerie" (washhouse) was added to the hotel's portfolio as a charming holiday home in 2006. To further utilise the special location of the hotel and optimise its existing offering for both summer and winter, its sun terrace was expanded in 2011/12 and a panorama restaurant built. This can be used in a variety of ways and shows off the unique Alpine scenery to optimal effect, thanks to the restaurant's large windows. In 2015, the historic parlour was then renovated in the style of the Belle Epoque.
In spring 2019, all of the guest rooms in the main building of Hotel Belalp were completely refurbished and renovated. During the renovation, attention was paid to using natural, locally sourced materials to retain the hotel's character.